FBT Manchester League FBT Manchester  League

About us

The Manchester Football League, currently known under terms of sponsorship as FBT Manchester League, is a football league in England, covering a 30-mile radius from Manchester Town Hall.

It was formed in 1893, although play ceased between 1912 and 1920. The 2011–12 champions are Hindsford. They will be defending their trophy this season after winning it for the first time 

The league consists of five divisions:

The Premier Division and Division One are exclusively for first teams, while Divisions Two and  Three are for reserve teams

Division Four is for A and B teams and there is no promotion or relegation from this division

The Premier Division Cup is known as the Gilgryst Cup and is one of the oldest, if not the oldest, Amateur Cup competition in the world having frst been contested in 1922 and was won by Glossop

The current holders are Springhead who won a lively contest in the 2012 final v Stockport Georgians

The Division 1 Cup is known as the Murray Trophy, formerly known as the Murray Shield and was first contested in 1959 and was won by New Mills Reserves who recently progressed to the North West Counties league from the Manchester League. The current holders are Rochdale Sacred heart who retained the trophy that they won in 2011



Recommend this page on:

The Manchester League is a Charter Standard League. To find out more, click on the image above

Follow us on Facebook

Want to join the league ?

Applications are considered up to and including the 31st March each year for the following season


Contact the League Secretary Phil Platt for further details or contact us directly using our online contact form.


Print Print | Sitemap Recommend this page Recommend this page
© Manchester Football League